The Power of the Lord

There is so much to report and so much to say to show people how God is working through all this.  I hope I will cover it all through my posts.  But today I want to show how God can turn bad to good for those who believe.

In 1999 I decided to build an office building for complementary medicine and have several different physicians working together.  It never did make it.  I wasn’t welcomed by my physician colleagues in the area for several reasons-my sex, my love for healing instead of keeping people sick and dependent on me, and just the “good ol’ boy” system in the community.  As most of the people in the community were on government insurance, they weren’t really interested in spending what little money they had on healing remedies when pills cost only $1. But at the time I was looking at the world through rose-colored glasses.

I considered it God’s annointing of my plan when He led me to Sam Tollison, founder and president of First National Bank of Christiansburg. He had a building designed next to the branch of his bank in Dublin, just 5 miles from my home.  He decided to sell me the plans for the building instead of renting to me.  I designed the interior for what I wanted, and built the building.  I had an occasional renter–a naturopath, 2 massage therapists, but their stay wasn’t long because of the lack of interest in the area.  So my medical office ended up using the entire building and I ended up with the full mortgage.  This limited my income, but I considered the future of the building would be my retirement, so I didn’t mind.

Ten years later, I still owe $200,000 on the building.  Sam Tollison retired from First National Bank and it was merged with StellarOne.  Now the commercial nature of the bank took over.  Sam had been a fantastic boon for the economy of the average businessman in the area.  He was a handshake kind of guy.  Many times he took a risk on someone coming to him for a loan.  But more times than not, his trust was well-founded, and the businesses he supported with loans did well.  I became associated with First National Bank when Sam gave me the loan I needed on my building. 

When I lost my license to practice medicine last July I went to StellarOne and asked them to repeat a favor that they had done for me once before.  When I lost my license in 2008 for 9 months, the bank allowed me to pay them interest only during that time.  Then when I got my license back, we returned to the regular loan where we left off.  I asked for that again.  Jay Johnson, representing the bank, said no problem.  They would help me out.  However, when it came time to sign the agreement, this time things were different.  The differences weren’t made known to me until January of 2012.  First, the note was only for 6 months.  Jay explained at first that they would renew it in 6 months.  Having 2 potential new sources of income, making my building a permanent yard sale building and a MLM business I was working, I thought I would even be making money again in 6 months, so I had no problem with that.  But in 6 months, the yard sale business hadn’t gotten off the ground and the MLM business was still not making that much.

When the 2nd note was presented to me, I didn’t catch the announcement that I had to find another bank to finance my loan by July 1.  In other words, StellarOne was not going to continue my original loan like they had done before.  The first time we had done this, I had not forfeited my first note with the interest only change.  But this time they were letting me know they didn’t want my business anymore.   Now how, in this economy, is a person without a job going to find a bank to finance a $200,000 loan?  Jay Johnson also turned the responsibility over to Mary Tabor, a loan officer in the bank.  I approached other banks and very quickly found out that there was no way I was going to get a loan.  So, in actuality, StellarOne took my money for a year, knowing full well that at the end of that year they would also be foreclosing on my property. I consider that to be unethical at best.

Last week I communicated with Mary that I was scheduling appointments with realtors to put the property on the market.  She then informed me that the US Attorney’s office had filed a Protective Order against the property so that nothing could be done with it, including selling it.  However, according to the protective order, I was still supposed to maintain my mortgage payments.  What did StellarOne do with this information?  They froze my personal bank account.  I do not believe that was part of the Protective Order, only the loan on the building.  But Mary said the bank was acting on “the advice of their attorney”. Hopefully that will get straightened out this week and I will be able to pay my bills.  Since the money I’ve been using to pay my bills has been through non-medically related businesses and loans, there should be no link with my personal account and the court case.

Here is where I see the power of God.  Had the bank done what they should have done, which was revert back to my original loan prior to the agreement to pay interest only, I would have a $2400 mortgage payment starting July 1.  But because they basically ended that note with the one they produced in January, and which states that the loan ends July 1, then there is no mortgage payment owed after June 1, my last payment on the existing note.  Since the government has a protective order on the building, basically saying that if I owe the court money at the end of my trial, they will confiscate my property to cover my debt, StellarOne can’t forclose on me.  God has bought me time.  Hopefully by the time I am found not guilty in court, I will be working again as a physician and will be able to find someone to loan me the $200,000 to pay StellarOne off. At least I should be given time by the court to sell the building, since I can’t do it now. 

So, at first the freezing of my finances seemed to be just one more stress to live with.  But upon reflection, I can see God protecting me.  I know He will continue throughout this process to take care of me. And I know I will be able to pay my bills.  He has provided for me thus far, and I know he will continue.  

Matthew 10: 26-30

26 “So do not be afraid of them, for there is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. 27 What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. 28 Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. 29 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.[b] 30 And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

    Leave a Reply

